Joe Root named on ICC Cricketer of the Decade

England Test captain Joe Root has been shortlisted for the ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade.

The 29-year-old is in contention for the Sir Garfield Sobers Award alongside India’s duo Ravichandran Ashwin and Virat Kohli, Steve Smith of Australia, Kane Williamson from New Zealand, AB De Villiers of South Africa, and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara.

Seven-man shortlist for the ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade:

  • Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
  • Virat Kohli (India)
  • Joe Root (England)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
  • Steve Smith (Australia)
  • AB De Villiers (South Africa)
  • Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

The awards recognise the best performers in all formats of international cricket between January 1, 2011 and October 7, 2020.

Leave a Reply